top of page



Scholarship Applications are Due Feb 1, 2024

The NCATA offers three scholarships (@ $1,500 per) for current athletic training students enrolled at a college or university in North Carolina.

View Our Scholarship Winners

Go to the Scholarship Application

To be eligible for consideration of an NCATA scholarship, the applicant must:

1.    Be a current member of the NCATA, applicant must provide a copy of current NATA membership card

2.    Be currently enrolled in a CAATE accredited professional athletic training education program (ATP) in North Carolina

3.    Must have earned a minimum of 2.5 overall GPA, and a 3.0 in ATP courses

4.    Three letters of recommendation from the following sources:

  • ATP Director

  • LAT, ATC clinical supervisor (must be different from program director)

  • one additional letter from: MD, instructor or Athletic Trainer

5.    An official sealed transcript

6.    An unofficial transcript with ATP classes highlighted

7.    An essay that must be typed, 10-point minimum, addressing future plans and goals for achievement.


The application is completed online.  All other supporting documentation must be emailed together and received by February 1st, except for the Official Sealed Transcript, which should be postmarked by February 1st.  Please provide this email address,, to those submitting a Letter of Recommendation.  The Subject Line should contain your Full Name.


Checklist of Items to be Submitted

  • Copy of Current NATA Membership

  • An unofficial Transcript with ATP programs highlighted

  • 3 letters of recommendation from the following sources (ATP Director, ATC Clinical Supervisor, MD (or Instructor, Athletic Trainer)

  • Essay

  • Official Sealed Transcript (mailed to: 1609 Matthews Allen Circle, Kannapolis, NC, 28081)


Send all required documentation to:

Contact Lindsey Braddock with any questions



A selection committee comprised by no less than five non-college/university members will be assembled. The members will evaluate each candidate’s application and rank their choices. Consideration should be given to students actively engaged in athletic training, attendance at athletic training camps/clinics/conferences, community service, scholarship and good moral character. The three applicants with the highest rankings will be selected as award winners.


Award winners will be recognized at the annual business meeting in March.  Plaques will be presented to the individual as well as their respective school.  A check for the award will be presented to the award winner.

Scholarship Winners


NCATA College/University Scholarship Recipients


2023     Marquita Parker, Lauren Butz, Carsyn Kilgo

2021      Merrily Lyons,  Kayla McReynolds, Benjamin Williams 

2020      Merrily Lyons,  Kayla McReynolds

2019      Ke’La Porter,  Kou Yang

2018      Samantha Milbourn, Markel Cureton

2017      Katy Rogers, Lindsey HonKomp

2016      Kelcey Holcomb, Johanna White

2015      Jenna Neumann, Leah Holliday 

2014      Elena Keretses, Danielle Enrique, Zachary Russell

2013      Alessa Lennon, Matthew Slingerland

2012      Alessa Lennon, Meghan Longacre, Jasmine Fuller

2011      Ashley Bracken, Jasmine Fuller  

2010      Kathleen Zielinski, Emily Whittington, Daniel Brown II

2009      Daniel Brown II, Summer Price, Anna Heelen

2008      Colin Covelli, Adam Graham, Elisa Mercer

2007      Kevin Schroeder, Sara Fleming, Elizabeth Hibberd

2006      Masahiro Takahagi, Amanda Cope, Ryan Holleman

2005      Andrew Browder                          

2004      Not awarded                  

2003      Not awarded                  

2002      Not awarded                  

2001      Stephen D. Halverson, Melanie Marie Mott        

2000      Lauren Reeese, Chad Ellis Wolfe, Ashley Elizabeth Lamm

1999      Zac Womack, Amy Elizabeth Renner

Past High School Scholarship Recipients & Awards

Bob Jamieson Award


2011      Morgan McKinney, Northern High School

2010      Kelby Hurlocker-Mount Pleasant High School

2009      Taylor Porter-Mt. Pleasant HS

2005      Conor Gafney-Cary HS

2004      Kevin Schroeder-Green Hope HS

2003      Megan Osborne-Southern Guilford HS

2002      Brittany Lane-Independence HS

2001      Celeste Frank-Apex HS

2000      Brandl Anderson-East Wake HS

1999      Timothy Samsel-SE Guilford HS


Al Proctor Award                          

2009      Laurren Smith- Western Guilford HS

2005      Emily Horne-Shelby HS

2004      Katie Horne-Shelby HS

2003      Andrew Browder-John A. Holmes HS

2002      Not awarded                  

2001      Jamie Cloude-Burns HS

2000      Emily Whitesell-E. Mecklenburg HS

1999      Corrie Barnett-Broughton HS

bottom of page